Books of the Holy Bible

What are the books of the Holy Bible?

Genesis - Creation account, humanity's sin, and God's promise and plan of redemption.

Exodus - Moses' delivery of the Hebrews from their captivity, giving of the Law to the Israelites and their journey to the Promised Land.

Leviticus - Describes the priestly line and their responsibilities.

Numbers - Provides an account and genealogy of the twelve tribes of Israel.

Deuteronomy - Describes the Law (Ten Commandments) and covers the blessings and cursing as God offers humanity the choice between life and death.

Joshua - The completion of the task given to Moses to lead the people into the Promised Land by Joshua.

Judges - God places people in a position to judge or rule over the things concerning the people of Israel.

Ruth - Her tragedy and her servitude to her mother-in-law, and how she returns to her family origin.

1 Samuel - The calling and activities of God's Prophet Samuel.

2 Samuel - The continued events in Samuel life and how God uses him to establish the throne of David.

1 Kings - Shares of the Wisdom of Solomon, and the history of the Kings of Israel.

2 Kings - The history of the Kings of Israel continue.

1 and 2 Chronicles - Provides a historical account of the history of the Israelites.

Ezra - Begins the rebuilding of the Temple of God.

Nehemiah - The rebuilding of the Temple, Nehemiah's passion.

Esther - The faith and courage of a woman of God, who cared for her people; confronted a King when this was unheard of in the norm of society.

Job - The temptation, trials, and suffering of a faithful man of God.

Psalms - Various writers, predominantly King David, write regarding the eminence of God.

Proverbs - The place to gather wisdom and understanding regarding life and all that life involves.

Ecclesiastes - Shares that there is a time for everything in life, that there is a balance in life and this comes from having one's life centered on God.

Song of Songs - Demonstrates two concepts, the love God and Jesus have for the body, i.e. the bride of Christ, and the love between a man and a woman.

Isaiah and Jeremiah - These Prophets of the Lord cry out unto the children of God for the Israelites' gross sin against God, and proclaim God's forgiveness, ways and redemption.

Lamentations - The Prophet of God weeps and mourns for the discretions of the children of God.

Ezekiel - The Prophet of God shares the sin of the nation of Israel and God's plan for redemption.

Daniel - Describes an excellent man of the Lord who serves the Kings while the children of God are in exile.

Hosea - The Prophet of the Lord display God's love, longsuffering, and redemption while taking and marrying a sinful, adulterous woman.

Joel - The Prophet of God shares of God's redemption of the children of Israel and God's blessings.

Amos - Impending judgments of God against the children of Israel and God's redeeming power.

Obadiah - Shares a vision from God.

Jonah - Prophet of God who ran from doing God's bidding. Jonah eventually shared God's redemption plan to the people of Nineveh. The King and people were redeemed and Jonah left in a quandary.

Micah - The Prophet of God shares God's judgments regarding Israel and God's redeeming plan for Israel.

Nahum - The Prophet shares of God's displeasure with Nineveh where sin is abounding.

Habakkuk - The Prophet of God inquires of the Lord and prays to the Lord.

Zephaniah - Discusses the exile of the children of God and the future hope of the city of Jerusalem.

Haggai - Shares about the building of the house of God and blessings for the children of Israel that follow God.

Zechariah - The Prophet of God calls for the Israelites to return unto the Lord, and God's love and care for His children displayed.

Malachi - Discusses the unfaithfulness of Israel, the storehouse of God robbed, and shares of the coming day of the Lord.

Matthew - Describes what the Kingdom of God is like.

Mark - A brief look at the life of Jesus.

Luke - A historical and factual look at the life and teachings of Jesus.

John - Salvation, being born-again, freedom in Christ, dwelling in Jesus, and the coming of the Holy Spirit.

Acts - The work of the Holy Spirit, how the first Christians lived and shared the Gospel of Jesus.

Romans - Paul's letter to the Romans and his testimony regarding salvation for the Jews and Gentiles alike.

1 Corinthians - The greatest gift is love; Paul describes the workings of the church body, its gifts and protocol.

2 Corinthians - More on church protocol, Paul teaches on forgiveness. Paul shares his testimony on the grace of God that it is more than sufficient.

Galatians - Freedom in Christ and walking in the Spirit of God.

Ephesians - God's grace alone is sufficient for salvation. The family unit described along with church protocol.

Philippians - Discusses Christ's example, being likeminded, rejoicing always in the Lord, and letting your thoughts be on Him.

Colossians - Living the Christian life.

1 Thessalonians - Shares about the Lord's coming.

2 Thessalonians - Evil is present in this world, do not be deceived.

1 Timothy - Instructions for the church.

2 Timothy - The Word of God is God-breathed and provides humanity with the way to live.

Titus - Continued instructions and protocol for the church.

Philemon - Paul writes a letter and shares the story of a slave. Paul redeems the slave which is what Christ did for humanity.

Hebrews - Faith pleases God.

James - Faith produces work in and for the Lord.

1 Peter - Living for God.

2 Peter - Reliability of Scripture, the Word of God.

1 John - Love is God and love is of God.

2 John - Walking in the presence and peace of God.

3 John - Reminds us not to slander, that goodness only comes from God, including those who do good.

Jude - Results of sin, results of salvation - everlasting life and relationship with God. This can begin now, by accepting Jesus as Lord and Savior.

Revelation - The consummation - the end of life as we know it, and the time for spending eternity with God in harmony with the Creator; or eternity separate and away from the presence of God, having your soul in constant torment.

Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?